Photography and Phones

Those of you who know me will be aware that I enjoy Photography.

If you’ve known me for a long time then you will remember that I used to be “that bloke who always has his camera over his shoulder”! This was based on the sound premise that to get a good photo, first you had to have your camera with you.

Back when I started getting serious about photography my camera was a Fuji STX1 35mm Film SLR with a 50mm lens, that was a chore to lug about over my shoulder for the occasional photograph (being careful not to wast a frame of my 24 or 36 exposure film!).

This was replaced by a Pentax P30N with a 28-80mm Zoom lens, giving more control but more weight & bulk that I then added to through the purchase of an additional 70-210mm zoom, some filters and a flashgun, not to mention the tripod!

So I was getting the occasional great photo but was restricted by the amount of kit I was lugging about.

I then acquired an Olympus Mju “compact” camera, a beautifully designed little 35mm camera that could truly fit in your pocket – I could now have my camera with me without looking quite so obvious, but it was more limited in ability!

In subsequent years I “Went Digital”, initially with a compact Kyocera/Yashica (interesting brand alliance!) and then onto my prefered Panasonic FZ and TZ models (Bridge & Compact).

These Panasonic cameras have served me well allowing the power and control of the old film SLR’s but without so much bulk BUT I still need to take them with me to get a photo!

This weekend I was at a family christening when I noticed something that had been creeping up on me for a while – even though I took my trusty Panasonic TZ with me I was actually taking more photos with my phone than with my camera.….

Now, even a year ago, taking photo’s with a phone was just a last resort as the quality of the lens & processing were dubious, but I now have a Nokia Lumia 820 that has an 8 megapixel sensor, a Carl Zeiss Lens with full AutoFocus, Dual LED flash and the capability to take 1080P (Full HD) video – better than both my “proper” cameras.  And just to add to the convenience as soon as I get a WiFi connection my Photo’s are uploaded to Skydrive so I don’t need to spend ages copying SD cards to my PC when I get home!

I will still use a “proper” camera when going out with the intention of taking photographs but the rest of the time, I have my camera in my pocket all the time, oh and I can make calls on it too…..

Leave a Reply

